WED Dec 6: Tim Schwab on The Bill Gates Problem, Town Hall Seattle

CAGJ/AGRA Watch & Town Hall Seattle Present Author Tim Schwab: The Bill Gates Problem: Reckoning with the Myth of the Good Billionaire WED December 6, 7:30 – 9PM: Get your sliding-scale tickets In his new book The Bill Gates Problem: Reckoning with the Myth of the Good Billionaire, investigative journalist Tim Schwab finds that Bill […]

New AGRA Watch Report: Corporate-Led Climate Adaptation

New AGRA Watch Report:  “Corporate-Led Climate Adaptation: How the Gates Foundation, Microsoft, and AGRA are enabling the digital capture of African Food Systems” AGRA Watch has released a new report (15 pages) detailing the intersections between the Gates Foundation, Microsoft, and AGRA on digital agriculture in Africa. Featuring extensive research by AGRA Watch intern Emma […]

SLEE is this SAT, Oct 14! Volunteer and get in for free!

SAT October 14th, 5 – 9:30PM CAGJ’s 17th Annual SLEE! Dinner – Strengthening Local Economies, Everywhere! Location: St Demetrios Church, 2100 Boyer Ave E, Seattle, WA 98112 Volunteer at SLEE and get in for free! Volunteers make SLEE happen! We need folks to help with pick-ups next week, and for many roles at the event (registration, servers, […]

4 Weeks to SLEE! Tickets on Sale + Call for Volunteers!

SLEE TICKETS ON SALE NOW! TICKETS: Purchase on CAGJ’s website! Sliding scale $40-$200: Please be generous in your support! We want to make this event accessible to everyone while also recognizing the need for us to raise crucial funds. Support a Farmer/Farmworker/Organizer: By purchasing a second ticket (at $50 or $100), you ensure that local […]

Report-back: AGRA Watch joins Pan-African Seed Conference

By Heather Day, CAGJ’s Director In August, AGRA Watch Co-Chair Bill Aal and I traveled to Dar es Salaam, Tanzania to participate in the 2nd Pan-African Seed Governance conference organized by AFSA (Alliance for Food Sovereignty in Africa). We’ve come home having learned so much about the battles farmers are facing in Africa, and the […]

TUES April 25: Rich Appetites Virtual Film Screening and Panel Discussion

Rich Appetites: The Corporate Capture of African Food Systems and the Hunger for Justice TUES April 25, 2023: 9am PST / 12pm EST / 5pm WAT/ 6pm SAST / 7pm EAT Virtual Film Screening and Panel Discussion Please register to receive the Zoom link: tinyurl.com/RichAppetitesVirtual2023 Help publicize: Share the Facebook event We will screen specific […]

SAT March 25: Rich Appetites Film & Discussion at Town Hall

AGRA Watch is thrilled to present our short film series, Rich Appetites, at Town Hall Seattle on Saturday March 25, 7-9pm PDT. Registration appreciated but not required.  Rich Appetites is a short film series that explores how billionaire philanthropists are pushing US-style industrial agriculture around the globe—including in Africa.  This model of agriculture is the […]