Roundtable Discussion: How the Gates Foundation Sponsors the Corporate Capture of Global Food Systems

 Registration is closed for this event

THURS Aug 19, 10-11:30am PDT

How the Gates Foundation Sponsors the Corporate Capture of Global Food Systems

1-2:30PM EDT / 5 - 6:30PM GMT / 8 - 9:30PM EAT

A webinar co-hosted by Community Alliance for Global Justice and the Alliance for Food Sovereignty in Africa

Please register to receive the Zoom link and event updates.

Help publicize: Share the Facebook event and our post on Instagram @cagjseattle

With the UN Food Systems Summit set to take place this September in New York City, this roundtable discussion aims to raise public and media awareness about the powerful interests working to capture our global food systems, and chart a course for participants to take action for Food Sovereignty. 

Featuring:

  • Anne Maina, The Biodiversity and Biosafety Association of Kenya (BIBA-Kenya) and Alliance for Food Sovereignty in Africa (AFSA)
  • Shakara Tyler, Black Dirt Farm Collective
  • Jim Thomas, ETC Group
  • Stefano Prato, Society for International Development and Civil Society and Indigenous Peoples’ Mechanism

Moderated by Matt Canfield, CAGJ/AGRA Watch, Leiden Law School in the Netherlands

Read more about the speakers on our blog.

Speakers will bring attention to Bill Gates’ and the Gates Foundation’s roles in advancing harmful industrial agriculture models in Africa and around the world. Though deeply flawed in many ways, this model of agricultural development is becoming dominant and edging out proven agro-ecological alternatives.

Participation is free; You must register to receive the Zoom link!

About AGRA Watch:

AGRA Watch is a grassroots, Seattle-based program of Community Alliance for Global Justice, that challenges the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation’s questionable agricultural programs in Africa, including its Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa (AGRA). The Gates Foundation and AGRA claim to be “pro-poor” and “pro-environment,” but their approach is closely aligned with transnational corporations, such as Monsanto, and foreign policy actors like USAID. They take advantage of food and global climate crises to promote high-tech, market-based, industrial agriculture and generate profits for corporations even while degrading the environment and disempowering farmers. Their programs are a form of philanthrocapitalism based on biopiracy.

When
August 19th, 2021 10:00 AM through 11:30 AM